Stick a fork in OSX, it’s done.

February 17, 2006

Apple’s OSX’s days are numbered. Soon, it will just be Windows and Linux. I agree with Dvorak. The thing that I don’t buy, though, is that Apple makes “premium” computers. In my view, there is only one thing that Apple does really well: aesthetics. They make really pretty things. These things are not necessarily the fastest, but they are nice to look at and fairly easy to use. I’ve gushed about the iPod before. My iMac, not so much. It’s like that Hak.5 video on how the G5 was supposed to be so freakin’ fast. It’s not. It’s slow.

That being said, my iMac is the most popular computer among the non-nerds in my house. I think it’s the gorgeous 20-inch screen and the relative ease of use. Plus, its location is good in the piano room. But the cost of the thing! Good lord! It cost three times what a PC with more power costs.I’ve never been comfortable with OSX. It’s like a second language to me. I speak Windows. I can’t help it. I was raised on DOS and went on from there. OSX is just alien. Plus the mouse isn’t that precise. Now I’m just whining.

But Dvorak is right. OSX is a doomed OS. Windows will take over and rightly so.  Switching to Intel chips clearly sets the stage.  The ink on the deal with Microsoft is probably already dry.  In a very short time, Vista will be found on Powerbooks, iMacs and Power Macs.People will still have a choice.  Linux will continue to gain popularity but OSX is bound for the same fate as OS/2 Warp.  Maybe OSX fans will get lucky and Apple will make it open source in a few years.    

 

One Response to “Stick a fork in OSX, it’s done.”

  1. Stef Says:

    “In my view, there is only one thing that Apple does really well: aesthetics.”

    I think you’ve hit on the key there, even if you don’t realise it. Aesthetics. I have a PC and a Mac. I use my PC because I have to. I enjoy using my Mac.


Leave a Reply

