The Death Of Television Has Been Greatly Exaggerated.

March 15, 2006

I finally ordered my Scooba today.  Would you believe that they are backordered?  Apparently a $400 robot mop has more of a market than one would think!  IRobot is shipping the Clorox first.  I wish they wouldn’t do that.  What the hell am I going to do with the Clorox without the Scooba?  They had better not charge me twice on the shipping.  Best Buy is carrying the Scooba now too.  I suppose I could have gone there, but then I’d have to pay sales tax.

 

I heard an interview on a podcast the other day and I can’t remember which one or who the person was.  Anyway, he said that television is dead and HD is dead and that people should just buy computers.  Now as a person with 14 computers, I would hardly tell someone not to buy a computer.  However, the idea that television is dead is silly.  The day that movie theaters die, so will follow television.  In the meantime, so long as people gather to watch movies together a computer just doesn’t cut it.  The person who said this might be a true loner nerd.  This would be the kind of guy who does not look beyond his sandbox (or basement) and watches whatever he wants to watch whenever he wants to watch it alone on his computer. 

 

Television is far too simple and flexible to be replaced by a computers.  True, televisions will contain more computer equipment and have computer functionality, but it’s stupid to think that people will want to crowd around a work station for movies and TV shows.  It works for individuals (sort of) but not groups.  Also, when I exercise and watch television, it’s on a TV, not a computer.  Yes, there is a TiVo attached to it, but it’s designed for the specific purpose of getting movies and shows in my face.  While it does things like play blogs now, the primary purpose is for television content storage. 

 

What will kill television and movies will be an entirely new way to experience storytelling.  It will be some sort of holographic and tactile experience.  I suppose it could be tied to computers, but it will need to freely allow groups of people to enjoy it together or the theater and the TV will still survive.  I doubt this happens in the next 40 years.

Leave a Reply

