What Podcasts Do You Enjoy?

April 17, 2006

Podcasts have become my obsession. I think it was last year, before I even began to have an iPod, that I started listening. Then it was The Evil Genius Chronicles and Adam Curry’s thing. It was so sad, because I had to burn them to cd to listen to them in my car! I never really started listening to them right off the computer. I have to say I don’t listen to Mr. Curry anymore, but he did help turn me on to the whole thing, so for that I’m grateful. Now I’m listening to podcasts more than I listen to music.

But eventually, I found TWIT (Leo Laporte is God) and dl.tv. I’ve also become quite the Diggnation fan. This surprised me because I didn’t like what Kevin and Alex were doing on The Screen Savers. I’ve come to believe that they must not have had much creative control because Diggnation is great.

Then I got into doing my own podcast, Friday Night Party Line. That’s been a wonderful experience and I hope to keep doing it for some time. I know I can make improvements in the show both in terms of content and production values. It’s an ongoing experiment.

I also listen to This Week in Science, 43 Folders, Engadget (but I don't use the website, go figure), Hak.5, In Our Time, MacBreak, the various NPR podcasts, Radio Leo, Rocketboom (although she makes me nuts), Science Genius Girls (now and then), Tech Nation, The Tech Teachers & X-Play (I still love Morgan Webb).

The latest and greatest, though, has to be Geeknights. Scott & Rym are amazingly productive, doing shows 4 nights a week! They are funny and they have their own forum. Computer nerds who are into anime. What more could anyone ask for?

I’m always into being turned on to something cool. My tastes, though, aren’t always in line with the norm. I don’t like, for example, Keith and the Girl. It’s fine if you are into the whole Howard Stern thing, but I’m just not. So if there are any GREAT podcasts that I’m missing out there, please leave a comment and clue me in.

2 Responses to “What Podcasts Do You Enjoy?”

  1. tabzfreestuff Says:

    I love Jack Black’s Nacho Libre videocasts….

  2. Jimbo Says:

    I enjoy a Pinot Grigio Podcast with almond overtones.


Leave a Reply

