Email Freak.

April 24, 2006

I get about 75 non-spam emails a day. I enjoy almost every one of them. Every email is a joy because it represents successful communication not involving the phone or a letter. Email is by far my preferred method of communication. I can answer a particular email right away or when I’m ready. I get to control my end of the interchange. The temptation with the phone is to deal with the issue right then. While I’ve certainly done it, it’s a lot harder to say to a person on the phone, “I’m not ready to discuss that at the moment, can I call you at another time?”

That being said, I’ve become a bit of an email junky. I like getting non-spam email. I like it as much as teenage girls love IM and cell phones. I’m always writing it or reading it and it makes the time go by just as much as Civilization IV ever did.

I mean it’s one thing to use it as a tool, but to look forward to email? To immediately snap to attention when you here that sweet Outlook tone? Is it normal? Is anything I do ever normal? It’s a good addiction as things go. It doesn’t really cut down on my productivity; in fact it probably improves it. And I say “Bah!” to those reports that email usage reduces your IQ.

So what about you? Are you an email freak? Or are you more into phones, IM, or snailmail?

2 Responses to “Email Freak.”


  1. i’m with you. the best way to comunicate is face to face or email…

  2. K Says:

    Yes, I’m addicted to outlook too. I suppose in the same way a person is addicted to nicotine. I wake up in the morning and it’s the second thing I do. šŸ˜‰

    K


Leave a Reply

