On Turning 40.

May 11, 2006

It happens to me on Saturday.  My thirties exit and my 40s begin.  My life is statistically half over and I can finally begin my mid-life crisis in earnest.  My friend told me that her 40s were the best years of her life.  She said that you enjoy financial comfort and reasonably good health.  She tells me I can enjoy life like never before.

I certainly hope so.  I can honestly say that I age kicking and screaming.  I do not go quietly into my good night, I will rage, rage against the dying of the light, or the forming of wrinkles and the graying of hair.  Even though I am a guy, I will take advantage of all the tools of modern science to fool myself (and maybe others) into thinking that I am not getting any older.

I am lucky in a lot of ways (knock on wood).  I am in good health, I have a good job that I enjoy, I have a great family and I don’t want for anything.  Things could be a lot worse.  Though I approach this milestone unwillingly, it is far better than the alternative.

So what do I want to do in the next 10 years?  I want to continue being creative (podcasting, writing, speaking).  I want to write a book.  I want to continue to excel in my career and I want to continue to travel.  I want to try my hardest to achieve whatever potential this mind and body have and my last hurrah at youth count for something. 

I’m off to a good start; I plan on making the second half of my life even better than the first.

5 Responses to “On Turning 40.”

  1. Mark Base Says:

    I’m 41.
    I know where you’re coming from. I’m fortunate enough to look like I’m in my early thirties, at the oldest.
    I’ve dyed my hair black for about 15 years; at first because I liked the look, now because I hate having grey. My girlfriend (and others) think my greying temples look good, but I hate it.
    So happy belated birthday, my friend. I have but one word for you: L’Oreal (because you’re worth it).

  2. Ananke Says:

    I turned 40 in December and it didn’t really bother me. I always thought it would, but it just felt like another birthday. Maybe it’s true, you’re only as old as you feel. I don’t feel old and I definitely don’t act it! I think your friend was probably right and your 40s will be the best years of your life. Enjoy every moment of them. Happy Birthday! 🙂

  3. Karen Says:

    Happy birthday!

  4. thaed Says:

    Thanks to all for the birthday wishes. Today feels like any other and I should be happy about that.

  5. Chris Says:

    I’m 44, I don’t look it. I have always looked about 10 years younger than I actually am. ( I wonder how long that will last)

    I like where I am in my life. A lot wiser. However, smart enough to know I still have a lot more to learn.

    It is true that when your older, you don’t sweat the small stuff
    heck, you don’t even care about the small stuff.

    Happy late b”day!!


Leave a Reply

