Computer Upgrade.

May 21, 2006

Ever since I got my new video camera, I've been hungry for more computer speed so I can edit HD video. While I have a ton of computers, none of them are very powerful. In the June issue of CPU magazine, Marco Chiappetta shows how to overclock a Pentium D 805 chip to 4.05 GHz. Chiappetta used an Asus P5WDG2-WS motherboard, the 805 chip, Corsair DDR2-675 RAM, a 36 GB Raptor drive and a Corsair Nautilus 500 water cooler. He also added a GeForce 7800 GTX graphics card, but I couldn't afford that upgrade right now.

For everything but the water cooler, NewEgg is shipping the lot to me for $678.27 with expedited processing. I bought a SATA cable too. I had to go with Zipzoomfly for the water cooler as NewEgg didn't have it in stock.

The plan is to have everything in hand for a nifty Memorial day weekend project. We'll see how it goes. I'm going to keep the case and power supply in my existing machine along with the two optical drives. The existing hard drives and mobo will get bumped down to another unit. I'm not sure what yet, but I may mod an old dell case. I don't really want to reuse the graphics card for the new machine. I haven't figured out what to do in that regard yet. At $837.25 out the door, I'm pretty much spent on this upgrade. I'm thinking that I can add a high end graphics card later if I want. Great graphics aren't that important at the moment.

It's always very exciting to do an upgrade and it will be even more exciting to have a computer with some oomph again. As an added bonus, the three 250 GB drives I ordered from Woot.com last week should be in this week. Those will provide the "slow" storage for the unit. I cannot wait!

Leave a Reply

