Computer upgrade leads to fiscal irresponsibility.

May 22, 2006

I was a bad boy today. No, this is not THAT kind of blog. I was bad because I bought computer parts on credit. Remember yesterday when I said I didn’t have enough money for the video card? Well today, I bought it anyway. $400 on a video card. And, it gets worse. I bought a second Raptor drive so I could run them set up in RAID 0 for blistering boot times. NewEgg gets $500 more of my money… that I don’t have.

Someone told me that I need cooling units for the Raptors too. Eek! I’m not going to buy them just yet, but it’s just a matter of time. I’m setting a really bad precedent here.

Normally, I’m not like that. Yes, I am a computer addict. There’s no question about that. But normally, I pay off my Visa bills every month (actually Discover). I used my Visa for this purchase so I could easily keep it separate from our joint expenses (read: hide it from my wife).

Now don’t worry. When I say I don’t have the money, I mean I don’t have my individual "allowance" money such that it is. My kids will not starve and I will pay my mortgage. But I might not pay my Visa off this month. One thing I do know is that I’m going to have a kick-ass computer.

Leave a Reply

