Pentium D 805 Overclocked to 4.05 GHz Benchmark.

May 28, 2006


Pentium D 805 Overclocked Benchmark

Originally uploaded by Thaed 3.

It's finished. You can see by the pic, that I now have a computer that performs like the expensive computers with a CPU that's 30% of the cost. Was it easy? Not really. Even last night, I had rock solid stability and I was doing bench mark testing. This morning, it was flaky. I tweaked it some more and now it's stable again.  For a hobbiest like me, that's fine. I've got 3 other computer that sit right next to it that I can switch to if there are problems. I'm confident that I can iron out any issues it may have. But this just illustrates how overclocking is not for everyone. If you don't love messing with your computer all the time, forget it. Also, if you only have one computer, for God's sake, don't do it. You could spend long periods without a computer at all. Oh, the humanity!

I do want to pass along some practical things I learned to other overclocking newbies. First, load your operating system with the computer set at it's system defaults, then overclock after you have a stable OS in place. I spent hours trying to get a version of windows on the machine with it being overclocked. I had an old copy of XP Professional that I was trying to load that I could not get to function no matter what I did. Later, I managed to get Win2k on it. Later today, I am planning on getting a copy of XP Home. I prefer Win2k in a lot of ways, but Age of Empires III won't run on Win2k. There are a lot of multimedia programs that seem to require XP too. People wonder how Microsoft will get people to switch to Vista? It's easy, they'll make software you need that won't run on XP or Win2k.

The other thing I learned is that when I visited the Extreme Overclocking forum to check some things, I found out that there are a lot of people much more into this than I am who have done some pretty crazy stuff with overclocking. I also learned that while the Pentium 805 D is fine for overclocking, it is hardly the darling of enthusiasts.

Finally, I want to pass along the fact that high speed computing is addicting. With the Raptor hard drives set at RAID 0 and with the high speed memory and overclocked processor, this computer is fast. Even doing stupid stuff like browsing, it's fast. Right down the line, everything you do is faster than on other machines. Impatient people like me, love that. But I know what's going to happen. I'm going to want all my computers to run that way. I'm going to want blistering speed for all four of my main machines. So don't go down this route unless you can resist speed addiction. It's too late for me now.

6 Responses to “Pentium D 805 Overclocked to 4.05 GHz Benchmark.”


  1. […] Well, I’ve given up on overclocking. I know after this post that that may come as a surprise to you. I just can’t keep the machine stable. It will run for hours one day and then be buggy as heck the next. I’ve had it. The thing is, I built the stupid machine around some expensive hardware. […]

  2. sajib Says:

    the pentium d 805 can be overclocked till 3.4 GHz ( barely 3.5 GHz) . at this clock this processor performs perfectly. but if u do more overclocking it will not remain stable.


  3. […] machine runs this program faster than any machine I’ve ever used previously. That being said, the overclocked dual dual core machine I built a year and a half ago is still comparable to the new machine.  It is no longer 4 GHz, but […]

  4. frank Says:

    hi i got a Pentium d 805 n its running at 2.66 Ghz, its starting to get old n im running a few programs but i want it to run faster, i would be happy wif 3.4 Ghz….i done n research about registry editing n now i just wanna run it faster by overclocking…..can i get a step by step guide to doing it….

  5. thaed Says:

    Keep googling overclocking a pentium d 805 and you should get step by step instructions. Understand you always run the risk of burning out your CPU. I learned a lot from CPU magazine on this particular build.


  6. […] ago before they died.  I fear this computer’s time grows short.  I detailed its creation on this blog.  You can see that it’s lasted a scant 2 1/2 years.  This is not typical for a computer […]


Leave a Reply

