Attention Podcasters: Don’t Skip Your Show if You Want to Keep Your Audience.

June 9, 2006

I was listening to The Tech Teachers podcast the other day and Ray said that they had seen a drop in listeners recently. This piqued my interest because I had also seen an unexplained drop in FNPL. If I'm not mistaken, they had taken a little time off too. There seemed to be some sort of tie between the decline in numbers and missing a week. Subscription numbers were the only ones affected.

Last night, I was looking at my iTunes podcast list and I clicked on some of the exclamation points next to a few of the podcasts. Previously, I thought these exclamation points meant that there was a problem with downloading the particular podcast. Last night however, when I clicked on them I got a message that said that I had not listened to the particular show in a while and iTunes (on it's own) had decided not to download the show anymore and did I want it to download the show again?

This probably solves the mystery. If you have a weekly show and you miss a week, iTunes will probably mothball you. The moral of the story for me is that so long as I want to keep doing FNPL, I'd better run a "Best of" show or something on the days that I can't do the show or else iTunes will cut the show off at the knees. Our numbers from the last hiatus are coming back up, but anyone who podcasts can tell you that listeners are dearly obtained. You don't want to lose them because of a technicality.

Leave a Reply

