Total Household Hard Drive Capacity.

June 11, 2006

Hard drives are on my mind today. Last night I installed a Netgear Storage Central SC101 on my network. I put two 250 GB drives I bought off woot.com for $50 each. It's terrific and it's letting my finally move some stuff off my 400 GB drive on one of my machines so I can reformat and remove the Mac files that I can't seem to delete.

All this computer geekery led me to assess my total hard drive space available throughout my home. It's no secret that I love hard drives and I don't believe you can ever have too much storage space. I have two TiVos and I am always pulling shows and movies off of them through TiVo's TiVo to Go Service. This fills up hard drives quickly.

I sat down and looked at all my computers and devices and came up with 4 terabytes of total storage. Now mind you, in my office with the four computers on a KVM that I use all the time, this accounts for 2.4 TB alone. The rest are in my modded TiVos and my iMac and the assorted other computers around the house. If I had my way, I'd have 3 more of those NAS units with the new Seagate 750 GB drives in them!

The Netgear NAS unit is going to help me get everything organized so I can better use the storage I have. I know I've got files duplicated everywhere. I should fix this. Or… I could just buy more hard drives!

What's your total household hard drive capacity?

2 Responses to “Total Household Hard Drive Capacity.”

  1. Tzuriel Says:

    Do you have a utility to calculate your total drive space or did you just estimate it? I have a script that will get the free space for each of my 5 LAN machines but I want something that will add all of that into one number. My best estimate is about 660 gb spread though 5 machines (not counting the 5 on my linux box)

    Anyway, if you have a util that adds all this up correctly, please let me know!

  2. thaed Says:

    Nah, I just looked at the properties of each drive using the particular OS. Nothing that fancy.


Leave a Reply

