Ubuntu Part Two.

July 3, 2006

A few months ago, I downloaded Ubuntu and I had trouble with the download right off the bat.  I ended up going with a Debian distro.  I played around with that for a while, but it really didn’t give me what I was looking for at the time.

Last week, I picked up a book on Ubuntu that came with a distro disk.  I’m going to install it on a computer and since I have entirely different reasons this time for using Linux, I suspect I will stick with it for a while.

You see, I’m having security problems with my Windows machines.  I’ve had two worm attacks in the last two months.  I took care of both worms, but the last one has damaged the infected operating system so badly, that I’m going to have to nuke the drive and do a fresh install.  I should have no data loss though, just time. 

This brings me back to Linux.  If I can get proficient enough with it, I’ll try to set up a box as a firewall coming into my network.  In the meantime, though, I just want to have a box I can use in case I have some sort of Windows Armageddon where all of my Windows boxes go down at once.  That would be crazy bad.  At least if I have one Linux box and my iMac upstairs, life will go on.  For example, I could still do Friday Night Party Line by hosting Skype on OSX and recording it the Linux box in Audacity.  Email, word processing and everything else is a piece of cake!

Of course it probably won’t play Oblivion.  Curse my moment of weakness in picking up this beautiful game. 

2 Responses to “Ubuntu Part Two.”

  1. Marc Says:

    Make it dual boot Windows and Linux if you want to play games in Windows. Install Windows first and then Linux and a good Linux distro like Ubuntu should take care of setting up a nice GRUB boot menu to let you choose between the two.

    I run Ubuntu myself. I switched to it after the Windows machine that served as my print server got so wanky that it would seemingly BSOD every time it received a network packet. The printer was never available. Switched to Ubuntu and I’ve never looked back.

    I’ve never used it as a firewall because I have a WRT54G, but I’m pretty sure that once you get Ubuntu going you can apt-get install firestarter and you will get a nice GUI for setting up iptables.

    Good luck!


Leave a Reply

