July 4, 2006.

July 4, 2006

Happy 230th birthday USA!!!  Today takes me back 30 years to July 4, 1976.  I remember the bicentennial fondly.  It mattered to me.  The bicentennial coins really impressed me and the whole idea of living in a country that was 200 years old thrilled me.  I resolved then to live to see the tricentennial!  Me in my red, white and blue overalls, somewhere after my trip to the candy store, deciding to live to be so old.  But I’ve kept up with that lifelong goal.  I’ve got a ways to go yet.  I’ve now settled on living to be (at least) 113.  That way, I’m hoping to be alive enough to appreciate the tricentennial.  I’ll buy a pair of red white and blue overalls from somewhere and talk about my trip to the candy store when I was 10.

People that old are human time machines.  I want to tell people what it was like living in semi-rural Ohio in the mid 1970s.  I have lots of stories.

According to the Chicago Tribune, at any given time, there are only 50,000 people living to 100 and only 60 or 70 that make it to 110.  That’s 60 or 70 people out of six billion!  Now that’s a lottery ticket!  But I’m motivated.  I’ll give it my best shot.

Leave a Reply

