Pen, Paper and Notebook.

July 10, 2006

Sometimes just going into Office Max can be a religious experience. This weekend, I bought some new pens and some computer paper. This gave me a sense of satisfaction. Normally, I only use Black PaperMate Comfortmate medium point ball point pens. I tried some new ones this time. Still PaperMate, but with bold ink. They aren’t bad, but they smudge a little. I like the fact that the ball points have a tiny plastic protector on them that you remove before using them for the first time. Nifty!

But the real find was a Black, Mead 5 Star, 5 subject college ruled notebook. It gave me real OCD satisfaction. You see, I use these to work out my thoughts and put passwords and codes down and just generally use them Da Vinci Codex style. They hold 200 sheets and my last one lasted me from January 1, 2002 until now. Not having one would probably induce a rain man style fit. Well, maybe not, I’d just have to use a legal pad, but, still, it would make me sad.

Despite my half dozen computers running in my office, nothing will ever replace pen and paper, not in my lifetime anyway.

3 Responses to “Pen, Paper and Notebook.”

  1. K Says:

    Hey Thaed, are you talking about the 5 star with the indestructable plastic cover? Cause I have the same one in burgundy and I use mine in the same fashion. Those 5 star people know what they are doing. 😉

    I have been using Roboform for my passwords. http://www.roboform.com/
    It’s a handy little program. It cost me $30.
    What I like about it is that I sign in using one password and can launch sites from the toolbar menu and I don’t fill out any passwords/usernames/URL’s.. It remembers them all for me. You can print out a list just in case. But it really speeds things up. Once you use it you will wonder what life on the internet was like before.

    End commercial. 🙂

  2. thaed Says:

    This one is the 5 Star Premier with the little cut out for your name.

    I’m scared of programs that keep track of passwords. If you get hacked, you’re screwed. 😦

  3. Bug Says:

    You’re so right about the pen and paper deal! I always have to have a legal pad with me no matter what *chuckle* I’m glad to know I’m not the only note-taker out there!


Leave a Reply

