Microsoft Rebooted My Computer While I Was Away.

July 13, 2006

Before my trip this week, I wanted to do some work on my computer that required overnight processing.  Before I set everything up, I clicked on install updates because it was flashing.  It did its thing and then told me it needed a restart.  I put it off because it was late at night.  I figured I would restart it the next day.  Normally, it just pesters me until I click ok, but it’s always required my assent to reboot.

The next morning, I came downstairs to find that my project was trashed.  There was a little message on the bottom right of my screen that said that an installation had taken place that required that my computer be rebooted.  In other words, it did it by itself.  I’ve never had that happen before and it really irritated me.

Like most computer users, I want to have 100% control over my computer.  In hindsight, I wished I’d taken the time to reboot the machine, but again, it was late and I wanted to go to bed.  Microsoft seems to be trying exercise more control over the machines that run it’s operating system.  It’s had a lot of scrutiny recently with it’s verification program that frequently calls home.  This is heavy handed.

It’s not going to take much of a heavy hand from Microsoft for me to switch to other operating systems.  I have an iMac and I have a machine running Ubuntu.  I’ll grant you that neither of those operating systems do everything I need them to do right now.  But it’s things like this that gives me the incentive to learn how to make the other operating systems do what I need to do.  I own many copies of Windows, but I’ll migrate away from it if it starts getting in the way of the work I need to do.

2 Responses to “Microsoft Rebooted My Computer While I Was Away.”

  1. john Says:

    A great point u brought up….Microsoft seems to be pushing it. Here’s some advice, when i’m away from my computer, and it’s currently on, i do 2 things 1: put the modem on standby [just hit the button, and hackers will be locked out] 2: put the computer in Hibernate [u do this by clicking “Turn off computer” hold down the shift key, then click Hibernate] or standby. The advantage of Hibernate is that it puts ur computer into a low-state power stage [almost as if it’s turned off], but it keeps whatever ur doing [like work] in memory. so when u turn ur computer on the next morning, everything should be just the way u left it….including ur unsaved documents!

  2. thaed Says:

    These are good tips for a person with one computer and a cable modem hooked up directly to it. I have a LAN that I use to support 10 active computers, two TiVos and other network devices. I just need to make sure I don’t install updates while I’m working. That and I need to use Ubuntu and OSX more often. 🙂


Leave a Reply

