Just for Joris.

July 29, 2006

This is for Joris who has patiently waited while I procrastinated in posting HD files taken from my Xacti HD-1 video camera. I did a detailed review of the camera here. Months later, I still love it. I really like being able to quickly switch between taking stills and video. Without further ado, here’s the link to the mpg4 file.

Windows Media Player 11 plays the mpg4 HD files beautifully on my Pentium D. It really matters what player you use. The last time I used Quick Time, it butchered them. You need a fast machine too. Doing anything with HD is processor intensive.

If I had to nitpick the camera, it would have to be on the lighting requirements. Daylight is best. If you are doing indoor shots, turn on all the lights. If you are staging shots, use extra lighting. Otherwise, this camera has completely changed the way I shoot video. One of the best things? No more tapes.

2 Responses to “Just for Joris.”

  1. Joris Says:

    Wow, that’s me in the title! šŸ™‚ Thanks!! And off course a big thank you for putting the file online!
    I’ve finally ordered the camera (ā‚¬ 400 on eBay.be, used only once) and it should arrive this week.
    This I really have to mention on my own weblog šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

