I feel guilty about wanting a Sony PSP.

September 4, 2006

It’s not because I’m a middle aged guy. I already have a Nintendo DS and a DS Lite. No, I feel guilty about wanting a PSP because Sony is essentially an anti-consumer company. It plagues its products with DRM, it locks onto proprietary technology like Memory Sticks that only work in Sony things and, lately, it makes stuff that blows up (well batteries anyway).

I was with some friends today and their son has one. Now I’ve seen it before, but I’ve never really looked at the screen. It’s beautiful. I’m told that the games aren’t that good and that most people use it for other things than gaming, but as a gadget, it’s definitely something I covet.

But I feel strongly guilty, not just a little bit. Look at the new Blu-Ray technology. If Sony were to license it to DVD makers so that DVD makers could put both Blu-Ray and HD DVD in the same box, that would be consumer friendly. At this point, as far as I know, they have not. And don’t get me started on the PS3. I have a Playstation 2 and I still use it, although my kids use it more. I would not buy a PS3 just for the Blu-Ray player. The DVD player in the PS2 is terrible. Strangely enough, since Blu-Ray holds more data than the HD DVD standard, it seems to me that it could win. Of course, that was true with Betamax and you would think Sony would learn something after, oh, I don’t know, 31 years!

So you see why I have mixed feelings about wanting a PSP. Now I have another confession. I want a Vaio UX too.

One Response to “I feel guilty about wanting a Sony PSP.”

  1. SeniorGato Says:

    I really wish I didn’t know what you meant. But I do, every day, it’s Sony screwed up day. I have a psp and I do really enjoy it, but as far as investing in a Sony item, I’m not sure I’d do it anymore. The PS3 is shaping up to be a disaster. What developer would want to develop for a company well known to not care about consumers.


Leave a Reply

