The Dell 3007WFP 30” LCD Monitor.

January 9, 2007



New rig

Originally uploaded by Thaed 3.

Sometimes you buy a new gadget that changes the way you do things. A monitor could do that? Yes, a monitor could do that. I feel like this monitor can do anything. I’ve been involved with computers since their origins and getting this monitor is one of the most significant events in my computer experience.

It is beautiful. With it’s 2560 by 1600 resolution, it is the most amazing monitor I’ve ever used. Yes, this is going to be a gush fest folks. To think, I debated long and hard before I actually pulled the trigger. I even had to buy it refurbished because, well, it’s not cheap. But, oh, the awesomeness of it all. I wondered if it was going to be too big. But no. No, my friends, it’s porridge that’s just right.

I like to work with multiple computers at the same time. Now I can run my 4 computer KVM on the 19” and use my fastest computer on the Dell monitor. Having so much screen space almost gives me the same utility as the KVM.

I played a round of Age of Empires III at 2560 by 1600. Incredible. For gaming this monitor has no equal. It practically fills my entire field of vision. It adds new meaning to the term immersive. As if I don’t spend enough time with my computers. Now I can entirely lose myself forever within their grasp.

I watched the Spider-man 3 trailer on it in HD and it looked terrific. Some reviewers have complained about flicker with DVDs. I ran a DVD off a hard drive and I didn’t have a problem. I wonder if the problems the reviewer was having stemmed from the optical drive being slower. I don’t know. There’s no question this monitor requires a lot of computing and graphics card horsepower. I will probably get the Xbox 360 HD-DVD drive for it so I can watch HD movies on it.

To sum up, I am the happy owner of the best damn computer monitor money can buy and I’m very happy for it.

4 Responses to “The Dell 3007WFP 30” LCD Monitor.”

  1. msmolka Says:

    holy sh*t, i just found your blog over the cnet forum, and omg the 30″ screen looks amazing! the 19″ looks soo small next to it, and i don’t even want to compair it to the 13.3 inch screen i look at right now 😉

  2. thaed Says:

    13.3″?! Yikes! But then again, years ago we all had 14″ CRTs. To me the monitor upgrade has been absolutely fantastic. I wish I had one at work.

  3. ping2low Says:

    let me know if you figure out how to get that 360 running on your 3007!

  4. thaed Says:

    You know, ever since I got my Samsung LCD TV, I haven’t had the need. But I still love the 30″ Dell. I wish I had two!


Leave a Reply

