Thoughts on Justin.tv

March 31, 2007

So, I’m tuned into Justin.tv. I finally got on the server and now I’m sitting here watching a guy sleeping. Yawn. I thought he wasn’t supposed to take the camera off. Apparently, he does while he’s sleeping. We get to watch him sleep. Yay.

Although it is the one time he gets to actually be on camera. The rest of the time, he’s his life’s camera man.

One of the humor lines they run at the top of the page is something to the effect that they are going to need more lawyers. Definitely. Running cameras on people when there’s no expectation of privacy is one thing. Using another person’s image for profit is quite another. Good luck with that, Justin.

The guys on TWIT were saying that it’s a lot like those gals who were putting up web cams on themselves 24 hours a day. I guess that’s true when he’s sleeping, but really, again, he’s less the star and more the videographer. The mobile tech he’s using does allow for a significant change in the process. Plus, he’s the first to do this.

I suspect it’s going to last for a bit. People will want to be seen on his camera, much like I made a point of saying hi on the webcam at the Hog’s Breath when I was in Key West. He’ll have a lot of people seeking him out for awhile.

In the meantime, I imagine it’s going to get old fast for him. I doubt I could do it for more than an hour. I don’t like hats.

Will other people do it? Probably. The mobile tech is significant and interesting and I’m sure other people will want to make use of that. You’ll see more mobile webcams. Will it change anything? No more than London putting up all its street cameras.

Leave a Reply

