Gaming Weekend Part II.

April 29, 2007

I finished the remaining three games I rented on Friday.  I did take a little domestic heat for spending so much time playing games this weekend, despite it being scheduled activity.  Ah well.  I’m finished now.

Here’s my thoughts on the remaining games.

Kameo.  I am pleasantly surprised by this game.  I had seen it on display at CompUSA last year and messed around with it then, but I didn’t really focus on it.  In comparison to the other six games, it holds up well with terrific graphics and stimulating game play.  Along with Gun, I’m putting Kameo on my “buy” list.

The Battle for Middle Earth II.  This is my type of game, right?  It’s an RTS.  Having played 90% of the RTS games out there, I should be doing backflips for this one, except I’m not.  It’s not the game’s fault though.  It’s the platform’s fault.  Don’t get me wrong, I am rapidly becoming a 360 fanboy, it’s just that consoles are not the greatest platforms for RTS games.  These games need a mouse.  It’s that simple.  That being said, if I had a manual to look at the controls for this, I might enjoy it more.  I’m not giving up on this one yet.  It may make it to the buy list because the graphics are good and the units are cool looking.  I need more time with the game.  You can’t fault the LotR universe, it makes for an engrossing subplot.

Finally, Enchanted Arms kind of surprised me.  While I am an Anime fan, I’m no expert.  That being said, I know a bishonen game when I see one.  There’s certainly nothing wrong with that, but it’s not my thing.  When the first 30 minutes of the game is silly dialog, you’re going to lose me.  Apparently, if you can get past the first 45 minutes of the game, the rest of it is supposed to be good.  I can’t make it that far.  This is one of those RPGs that has the turn based combat that some people enjoy.  I think in the right environment, it’s ok, but I could care less about this story.  I think this game is supposed to be a Final Fantasy clone.  Meh, it’s not for me.

So that’s it.  I have to say that the Xbox 360 combined with my new HD TV has reinvigorated both my desire to play video games and my desire to watch movies.  It’s great stuff.  Next, I’m going to see how well it streams video off a computer.  More on that later…

Leave a Reply

