Review of the Samsung LN-T5265F TFT-LCD Television.

April 30, 2007

Samsung LNT5265F 52-inch 1080p LCD HDTV

Holy freakin’ God, this television rocks! I cannot tell you. If God has a television, this is what he watches. It is bright and gorgeous. It’s completely riveting. I am probably going to die sooner than I should because I’m buying a bean bag chair and I’m going to plant myself in front of the television and watch movies and play games for the rest of my life.

It has 3 HDMI inputs and 2 component inputs. It also does s-video and cable and the rest of the lower res stuff. The money is in the HDMI, computer and component inputs. Right now, I’m using a component input for my cable box and I’m running my Xbox 360 through the PC input. It is with this setup that I’m able to get 1080p output and watch movies in 1080p on the Xbox HD DVD drive.

The brightness of this TV is amazing. It’s sitting in a room facing 4 5 ½ foot windows. The television is bright enough to watch in full daylight. Strangely enough, there is less glare than the CRT television this TV replaces. Also the viewing angles are incredible. I had originally planned on getting a Mitsubishi DLP. The viewing angle on a DLP is nothing like this. You can watch this TV from essentially the same viewing angles as you would with a conventional television.

On my set up, I use the optical audio output to send audio to an Onkyo surround sound system. Honestly, the first time I plugged in this television it brought a tear to my eye. Gaming is in a class by itself. The 360 does not disappoint. I can’t imagine going back to my PS2 after this. In fact, if there is one weakness, I did try running my PS2 on it and it looked terrible. My cable box upconverts so normal channels look ok.

I looked at every LCD Best Buy had to offer in picking this TV. The contenders were from Sharp and Sony. Still, the Samsung stood above them all and I obviously couldn’t be happier. As I’ve said before, it’s reawakened my interest in movies and games. I’m a lucky man indeed.

17 Responses to “Review of the Samsung LN-T5265F TFT-LCD Television.”

  1. Tiana Says:

    wow how much was it

  2. Rotem Says:

    This would be the TV I would buy, but I’m scared about the glare issues. Reviews says that it’s as reflective as a mirror.
    What’s you’re experience with it? Is it annoying?

  3. thaed Says:

    Not at all. I’m watching the Cav’s game right now in HD and it’s better than being there.

  4. JC Says:

    The picture here alone looks pretty glarey. is that your dvd collection in the background? jk
    I’ll have to check it out for myself.

  5. Riyad Kalla Says:

    Thaed,
    Do you only have the XBox 360 hooked up to it? I’m curious because I *did* buy a Mitsubishi DLP set, and while it looks great with HD content, SD stuff, especially my Wii on it look terrible… really terrible.

    So now I’m looking around for other sets and keep running across this set because of the rave reviews. I currently have a 65″ set and wanted to get something around 60″, but in an LCD, unless I’m willing to spring a lung on it it doesn’t look like it will happen… although I think going to 52″ would be worth it for the right set.

    Also, how far away do you sit when viewing the TV? My viewig distance right now is 11′, which is why we went with such a big set in the first place.

    Do you happen to have an album somewhere with shots from the TV? Maybe with different inputs showing?

  6. thaed Says:

    Riyad,

    I use my cable box and my 360 to put content up on the Sammy. I prefer to watch HD content on it. While the cable box upconverts material to a watchable form, I prefer HD. I have the Sammy in a big room and often I’ll watch it from the couch about 14 feet away. When I’m gaming or watching something I really like, I’ll sit in my giant bean bag chair right in front of the thing. That tends to be awesome.

    I will do a follow up post with more pictures.

    Thaed


  7. […] posted a more detailed review here previously about the TV.  I have to say that I tend to be unemotional when I review something.  I […]

  8. Scott Says:

    Thaed, there’s alot of “techy” talk on chat logs that mention that the “motion” ability on this set during fast action movies/sports channel is inferior to like the new model out…LNT5271. Have you experienced any “blurring” during fast action viewing?

  9. thaed Says:

    I have not. Now, I don’t watch a lot of sports, but I do play a lot of video games. During my 5 hour Bioshock session yesterday, I experienced nothing but intense gaming bliss.

  10. Tony Says:

    Now that i has read so much about LCD, in this article, do i feel that i has added something substantial in my knowledge bank. If the answer is yes, your goal is achieved.

  11. Waseem Says:

    Dear Alls

    I would like to buy the TFT television in 42″ so please let me know about your new models which are available in Pakistani Market alonge with models no.

    I am looking your kind reply as soon as possible,

    Thanks
    Waseem Akthar

  12. Mad Guy Says:

    I bought this TV about 14 months ago and its all ready screwed up. The tv turns its self on and off and then when it does turn on it has green lines and small dots on the screen. I spent $2500 and to me its a waste of money…

  13. Stan Says:

    I purchased this tv 2 years ago exactly, after one year and a week the tv had some problem with the picture, unable to fix because of the warranty had expired, it’s funny how after 1 week of the 1 year the tv breaks, called samsung got no help, they told me why i did not purchase extended warranty? Spent 3 grand on the tv lasted me a year, it’s a joke, will not buy a samsung LCD tv again unless samsgun sends me a new tv for free of charge!! WASTE OF MONEY!!!

  14. eddie Says:

    nice and very informative writeup keep it up.

  15. o Says:

    thank you for post it’s usefull.


Leave a Reply

