Owning both a PS3 and an Xbox 360

July 11, 2007

Playstation 3 40GB
Xbox 360 Elite System Console Includes 120GB Hard Drive
Say what you will, but when Sony dropped the price on the PS3, I hauled my butt down to the Best Buy and bought one. Actually, I bought the last one on the shelf. I brought it home and set it up and then I just sat there and looked at it and at the Xbox 360. I now have two pieces of consumer electronics that essentially do the same thing.

If nothing else but to justify this in my own mind, I want to talk about these units together. The style points definitely go to the PS3. It’s black sleekness is evil! The 360 looks like the toy that it is next to it. The PS3 is a computer. You can plug in a USB mouse and keyboard right into it. You can also plug in media cards. I ran the PS3 all last night because I wanted to charge the Sixaxis controller. I didn’t worry about that at all and I made sure I ran Folding at Home. I wouldn’t dare waste precious 360 burn time by keeping it on all night. A 360 is like a light bulb. You’ve only got so many hours before it burns out. My original PS2 is what, 5 years old? I have no doubt that in 5 years the PS3 is going to be going strong. I’ll probably have gone through a half dozen 360s by then.

But I sound like I’m ragging on the 360. The fact is, right now, the PS3 can’t touch the Xbox as a gaming system. There are tons of great games out for the 360 and not so much for the PS3. Everyone knows this. Moreover, the 360 has movies you can download. The PS3 has a couple of trailers and a few demos and games, but nothing like the 360. The 360’s software is superior. The PS3 isn’t bad, but applications launch in a kind of clunky way compared to the 360. The 360, while it’s running, is awesome!

But as I sit here and watch coverage of E3 it’s clear that the games for the PS3 are coming. The PS3 has so much potential, it’s almost painful to see it in its current state. From a hardware perspective, the PS3 is an impressive machine. It’s significantly quieter than the 360. When I watch HD DVD movies on the 360 with it’s separate drive, it’s noisy enough to be distracting. The PS3 is quiet enough to be a real piece of home theater equipment. In fact, the real reason that I bought it was that I wanted a Blu-Ray Player. The PS3, in my opinion, up-converts slightly better than the 360. Watching movies in 1080p is something that once you experience it, you don’t want to look at anything else and now I have the player of the standard that is poised to win the format war.

The 360 streams video from your computer quite easily. I did it once just to try it. I really don’t have much use for it beyond that. I believe you can get the PS3 to do it as well although I’m not sure as easily. For me, the media card support is more important.

So yes, in the end is it overkill to have both a 360 and a PS3? Of course! Is if fun, absolutely. I have the best game system available right now in the 360 and a terrific Blu-Ray player in the PS3. I can tell you though, that as games come out going forward, I’m going to look for them first on the PS3 and only buy the exclusives on the 360. The last thing I want to do is get half-way through a game and have to send the 360 back to Microsoft because it has given up the ghost.

11 Responses to “Owning both a PS3 and an Xbox 360”

  1. zet Says:

    everyone is talking about how their 360’s are always breaking down. ive had mine nice launch 2005, and other that a couple of screen freezes, i have never had a problem with it, “no red rings of death”. oh yeah i had it twice, it was when i pulled the a/v cable from the back of my unit, and the other time when i was watching an hd dvd movie and had the 360 and hd dvd player inclosed in my entertainment console.
    the point that i am trying to make here is simply that many of the people experiencing the red rings are getting because of their on doing. the fact is no electronics should be in an cabinet w/o ventilation, hell, my yamaha reciever shuts down b/c of this and its brand new. also if you have no life out side of the virtual world, maybe MS is doing you a favor by breaking and allowing you to form those social network outside of your home and away from a monitor.
    i also discovered that when i took off that awful intercooler from nyko, that doesn’t do diddly, i have not had a problem since. also if you read the warranty MS will not honor it if any aftermarkets were ever attatched.

  2. James Says:

    Unfortunately Having both the major consoles is still a necessity if you to have a good choice of what games you want to play. Currently IMHO the better games are currently on the Xbox 360 (this view is also swayed by the games available in the UK, where I am). At this moment I personally have no use for a PS3, but you can bet a soon as they release Gran Turismo, I’ll be down the shops quick as a flash.

  3. Roberto Says:

    You do not have to have the PS3 turned on in order to charge your controller, all you have to do is leave it in standby mode. Turn the console off, but leave it so that there is just a red light on in the front, don’t switch the power off in back. This will ensure that your controller charges, but you aren’t leaving the console on unnecessarily. I know you have to have the console on with the 360 and the play and charge kit (I own a 360 and a PS3 both also), but with the PS3, you have the power switch in back so you can leave the PS3 in hibernate mode.

    Additionally, I would like to make a comment here. Many people say “The Xbox has MANY more great games,” but I really beg to differ. The 360 has very few MUST HAVE games, the rest are just MEH. Not only that, but now that I own both, I realize how short most 360 games are. Gears of War for example is a must have game, but is short as hell and the multiplayer sucks. I beat it in just a few hours. With the unreal engine being coded to work as well as possible with the PS3 now and with developers seeing potential, we will begin to see where the PS3s power lays and really how much blu-ray makes a difference. The 360 crippled itself by 1: using DL-DVDs as its media and 2: not having a HD in every system. We will begin to see the difference very soon.

  4. Kyle Bartle Says:

    Well i have a ps3 from Launch and have had no problems with it. The proble i do have is the limited amount of games and the prices are to high. My friend has an 360 and it is Awsome and i might get one and put my ps3 under my bed and not use it. The 360 has much more games for all people. Gears of War to me was not as good as everyone said it would be but graphics are Awsome. The graphics are better on the 360( There is proof that the graphics are better on the 360 go on Gamespot Graphic Comparisons) and it is much chea[er. I might just get the core system.

  5. Adam Says:

    I have both the PS3 and the 360. I am very disappointed with the PS3. The menus are terrible and very clunky compared to Xbox live. The blade system on the Xbox seems a few generations ahead of the PS3 menu and the PS store is a joke. I also agree that the current games seem clunky and poorly programmed.
    I hear people saying that the hardware is much more advanced then the 360, but the games don’t look better. I don’t know if the PS3 team needs more time, but the 360 had better titles out at this point in the lifecycle.
    After experimenting with it for a while, I’m actually concerned about the viability of the console. Why should there be a more expensive yet inferior console.
    I also was very surprised that Bluray didn’t appear as good on my setup as HD-DVD or HD On Demand. I think that it may look better on other setups, but on my Pioneer Plasma, Bluray looks terrrible.

  6. Brendan Says:

    All i have to say is Xbox 360 falilure rate 33 % , PS3 Failure rate 1 % .Via wikipedia . Wii failure percent = () % . It speaks for its self .

    1 more thing , PS3 has loads of potential . right now it doesn’t look that good but in 1 to 2 years it will be a must have machine . NO PS3 Fanboy on this ALL FACT . Xbox 360 fanboys can cry me a river in 2009 but for now brag while u can ! Im not saying 360 sucks , its awesome but PS3 can be better . Sony just needs to get its sh!t together and prove that the PS3 is a must have for all gamers.

  7. Santiago Chili Says:

    Is it TOO much overkill to have a Wii and PS3 and are now contemplating buying an Xbox 360 lol?

  8. thaed Says:

    As someone who has a Wii, A PS3, a 360, a PS2, 2 DSs and a PSP Slim (not to mention many computers) I don’t think it’s overkill. 😉

  9. Derek Says:

    I also own both. Basically I got the 360 for exclusive game titles that I can’t get on the PS3. Halo, Gears, Bioshock and Mass effect. But I prefer to play on the PS3 because of dedicated online servers, DIVX, doesn’t run hot when I play plus it has in my oppinion great exclusives like Warhawk, Drakes, Ratchet & Clank, Resistance, Lair, Heavenly Sword and UT3. Plus when I connect my 360 to my router it almost seems like microsoft trys to completely take over my PC. Unless Microsoft figures out how to incorporate Blu-ray into their gaming I see them taking a comfortable back seat to the PS3. And that’s just the way it is.

  10. thaed Says:

    Nowadays, the PS3 is on every day, mostly as a Blu-Ray/DVD upconverter. I haven’t turned on the 360 in months.

  11. lm Says:

    i have a PS3 and it does have much more potential,
    if killzone 2 comes out,
    and resistance 2, a little more power will be sucked out of the PS3,
    in two years, it will be much better graficaly


Leave a Reply

