Best Practices for iTunes?

July 13, 2007

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve lost my playlists.  In the year and a half or so that I’ve had my iPod, I’ve always been moving iTunes from one machine to another.  This is usually because the machine breaks.  For the stuff that I’ve bought, I have maxed out the authorized computers.

A month or so, I had the opportunity to buy a little laptop that I can pretty much carry everywhere.  It has now become my iPod server.  All music I acquire goes on this machine.  The iPod charges and syncs with this laptop only.  I can use the automatic music management and I am happy.

When I think about all the music that’s been lost over the years, it’s frustrating.  I don’t think digital music is a better way to keep it than CDs.  Of course I lose CDs too or they get scratched or whatever.  I’m hoping now, with one solid repository of music it will be better.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ve done backups over the years, that doesn’t stop stuff from getting lost.

How do other people do it?  How do you manage your iPod?  How do you keep from losing playlists?  How do you keep from losing songs over the years?

Leave a Reply

