Netflix, HD DVD, Blu-Ray and random movie watching.

July 15, 2007

Netflix is letting you pick a priority order now of how you want your queue. I picked Blu-Ray, HD DVD and DVD. There is a crapton of stuff out on Blu-Ray now. It’s kind of amazing.

This weekend, I watched The Warriors, Ghost in The Shell Solid State Society, and Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. I’m too lazy to do a full review, but I’m never too tired to give my opinion. The Warriors had such an impact on me as a kid in 1979. I remember it being campy. It was. I still enjoyed it though. GiTS was good. I’ve enjoyed every bit of that mythos. I found Fear and Loathing to be unwatchable. I’m sorry, I liked the book, but I hated the characters in the movie.

Next up in the queue is Ghost Rider, TMNT and Memento. I heard Ghost Rider isn’t so bad. Turtles from the 80s didn’t make me run to the theater, but it’s a rental. Memento is on a lot of people’s list as one of their all time favorites. I’m glad I waited because now I get to see it on Blu-Ray.

I’m also sending in for my 5 free Blu Ray disks. The choices aren’t great, but I’m thinking: Invincible, Blazing Saddles, Stir of Echos, Black Rain and The Transporter 2. I’ll watch them and then put them up on eBay (except Blazing Saddles).

5 Responses to “Netflix, HD DVD, Blu-Ray and random movie watching.”

  1. sirjorge Says:

    i switched from netflix to blockbuster….netflix totally screwed me on 2 dvd’s…it was sad.

    I like the priority thing though, that’s new.


  2. […] had blogged on July 15th that I sent in for 5 free Blu-Ray disks after buying my PS3. Today, I received them via regular […]

  3. hearthealth Says:

    Congrats for taking the plunge with Blu Ray, although some–inc. CNET–advise waiting. In the meantime, here’s two good sites re choosing an “ideal” home theater: Why not check out my two favorite home theater trend spotters? CNET, with the appropriate models suited for the size of your living
    room area and ConsumerSearch.com, which classified the very best according to various tastes.
    Home theater tips here

  4. Jayesh Says:

    Have u noticed how every superhero series has 1 main character, the leader, that holds the group together … For Watchmen, it’s the dashin Dr Manhattan!!! Check out their facebook page http://tinyurl.com/facebook-watchmen


Leave a Reply

