Ubuntu, Servers and fun.

November 8, 2007

I’m playing with Ubuntu more than ever.  In my four computer KVM, I already have one Ubuntu box and now I’m moving to two.  I’m trying to figure out what I’m going to do regarding my NAS needs.  I’ve always coveted a Linux file server.  I envision a dedicated box loaded with as many hard drives as I can stuff into it.

Currently, I’ve got a 500 GB drive attached to my router and I also have a Netgear SC101.  So I have a terabyte of storage on the network now.  I’m not crazy about the USB drive on the router.  The link doesn’t stay up all the time.  I suspect that’s because the settings on the router make it that way.  I don’t want to fiddle with it though.  The SC101 is more stable, but it’s terribly slow.  Ultimately, though, I’m not sure that I need more than these two solutions.

It’s probably just more computer whimsy to want a dedicated box for a server.  I’m full of computer whimsy.  I’ll build computers that I don’t use.  I’ll waste hours and hours in my basement creating things that have no use.  Ugh!  I feel like a freakin’ artist!

Leave a Reply

