Becoming an Adobe fanboy.

December 27, 2008

On of my goals over my holiday vacation was to learn Dreamweaver, Photoshop and Flash.  Later I might learn more about Premiere but I’m told that Vegas Pro might be the way to go.  I’ve been sick, so I haven’t made the progress that I’ve sought, but I have made inroads on the Dreamweaver book.

I want to take the blog that I do for work out of free WordPress hosting and put it into an environment where I pay to host it but where I also have more control.  I probably don’t need to learn Dreamweaver to do this, but I think it may be a good start.

Also, learning new software causes me to make mental connections that help in ways that I have never considered.  I think that this whole software learning project is going to take several months now.  If I decide to buy the software after playing with it for a while, it’s going to be expensive.  I want to be absolutely sure that I’m going to use these tools.

You might ask why I don’t stick to open source.  Certainly, there are some alternatives.  Everyone knows about Gimp, for example, instead of Photoshop.  I’ve been using Gimp for a while for quick photo editing.  I want to get past superficial editing, though and really learn about the layering aspects that Photoshop offers.  I think that’s going to be the most fun part of the project (along with video editing).

Doing this for fun is also a real motivator.  Just starting the Dreamweaver book has made me think of some unrelated server projects that might be interesting.  So there’s real value in this and it could be engrossing too.

4 Responses to “Becoming an Adobe fanboy.”

  1. Nine Says:

    I never understood, and certainly never will understand, these “I’m going to learn [insert program name here]!” escapades people try. Whenever I hear or read someone planning to do something like this, I always think to myself, “Why not just learn the concept of …?” And then, “Once you know the entire program, will you ever use ALL of it?”, which is especially true for a program as Photoshop. Unless you’re a professional, you have no need for all the options Adobe’s products offer, and at that point, they become awfully expensive for the little set of tools you’ll really use. A surprisingly big number of artists I come across on the internet still use Photoshop 7.

    If you would ask me, I’d say never, NEVER, bother buying Dreamweaver. It’s just too ridiculous, even though the cheapest of the 3. There is more sense in buying Photoshop, and even then you should be an avid photo editor or artist to justify its cost imho. Flash however, or at least, from what I know, has not really an alternative. But are you really going to animate flash movies? Make highly interactive websites, or even games on a regular basis?

    Adobe products are great at what they are made for, this is undeniable at this point in time. But they’re not products your regular, standard-issue Joe should be buying.

  2. thaed Says:

    Your comment is awesome inasmuch as how sincerely I disagree with it. If humans lived by the credo you espouse, we’d still be residing in caves. The only way to grow as a person is to try new things and to learn new concepts. It is certainly a better use of leisure time than watching sitcoms. Sometimes, as in this case, it might seem like overkill. However, the unintended consequences of a learning endeavor can, at times, be more beneficial than the intended result. Even if I never make a single flash animation, this will be worthwhile because I will learn new skills. Why climb a mountain? Why learn Photoshop? Because I can.

  3. Luke Says:

    The Gimp is NOT an alternative to Photoshop. I downloaded it for the mac and it is unusable. Even the cheapest version of Photoshop is going to be an infinitely better step up.

    Meanwhile, I’m with Thaed on the the learning things because you can thing. If you want a new hobby, you have to try it!

  4. Nine Says:

    >The only way to grow as a person is to try new things and to learn new concepts.
    That was the point I made. What I tried to explain was that people shouldn’t focus on learning how to climb their local mountain, but how to climb, period. You don’t even need any program to learn how to manipulate images. You only need them for practice.

    >I downloaded it for the mac and it is unusable.
    The Gimp is perfectly usable. It’s easier to use than Photoshop in my opinion. And I have used both enough to adapt to the different interfaces so that I could do what I wanted to.

    I too agree that you should go out and learn new skills. But you don’t go and learn how to use a knife and fork, you go and learn how to eat.


Leave a Reply

