Computer Trouble.

January 3, 2009

Last night I tried to boot my flagship computer and had some weird trouble.  First, I got an overclock fail and then it just wouldn’t go completely into XP.  It also seemed very, very slow.  I tried resetting the factory defaults in CMOS, but that had the very undesirable result of knocking out the RAID zero boot disk.

So even though it’s back to factory defaults, I had to convince it to pick the RAID back up without trashing the windows partition.  This thing is old enough where you have to make a floppy to put the drivers on the system.  Around midnight, I remembered that there was a setting in the BIOS necessary for the RAID.  I flipped that back on and got it to boot (but very, very slowly).  Because the slowness starts with the post screen, I do not think this is a software problem.  I might try to flash the bios.  I also see that Norton has a program called Ghost.  I’ve never messed with imaging programs because I’ve always kept my data on a separate disk.  I’ve always felt that since I had program disks, I didn’t need to worry about programs.  Of course, now I’ve accumulated so much crap, I don’t even know what I have.  Plus, I’ve got a lot of codecs on this machine.  So, I want to try to do an image.

Something similar happened to two AMD boards that I had years ago before they died.  I fear this computer’s time grows short.  I detailed its creation on this blog.  You can see that it’s lasted a scant 2 1/2 years.  This is not typical for a computer that I build.  I usually get 3 to 5 years without any problems.  I think most would agree that it’s probably the overclocking.

Of course now, I know a lot more about overclocking and I know how far you can push components.  The price of my knowledge has been this computer’s potentially premature death.  I’ve been joking that this is just an excuse for me to build the I7 rig that I’ve been thinking about (and maybe I will in the next few weeks) but for now, I’m mourning the decline of something I created.

2 Responses to “Computer Trouble.”

  1. Greg Says:

    You might want to try Clonezilla it is a free Debian based imaging tool with a live cd to boot from. It can image to network samba, local usb, local second internal drive, etc. If you go the paid route you might give a try to Acronis, it is a little bit cheaper than Norton.

    If it is the board I doubt the image will help. You may in for a rebulid of the OS on a new MB.

    Give MS SyncToy 2.0 a try you can windows “cron” to schedule nightly syncs up to FreeNAS.

    Bummer on the hardware, it is always annoying when they sort-of fail.

  2. thaed Says:

    Thanks Greg.

    I had not heard of Clonezilla, I’m going to have to check that out. I downloaded Acronis, but didn’t feel like doing the mandatory registration.

    I’ve been using AlwaySync and that’s been pretty good. I might have to check out SyncToy.

    Good stuff!


Leave a Reply

