Ultra Hal Assistant and Microsoft Speech Recognition.

January 24, 2008

I’ve been messing around with Microsoft Speech Recognition in conjunction with Ultra Hal Assistant.  At some point in time, talking to your computer will be a great way to get things done.  That point is not now.  I have to give the folks who make Ultra Hal some credit for trying something that is essentially impossible.  However, I grew frustrated with the assistant almost immediately.

You can use Microsoft Speech Recognition to enter voice commands in the text box.  It doesn’t work very well.  I’m also playing with Dragon Dictate right now and that is a usable program.  MSR is nowhere near Dragon Dictate in terms of accuracy.

I abandoned the speech recognition part and just typed in the chat box.  I did get it to launch a program, but the rest of it was just inane computer banter.  I think a person would have to be high to get any enjoyment out of this.  In terms of usefulness, it’s far easier to click icons.  This program is a start, but it’s going to have to get a lot better before I’d try to use it again.

Right now, it’s hard for me to imagine that programs like this will be commonplace anytime soon.  Then again, when windows first came out, I thought it was just a gimmick and that the command line was far more useful.

Leave a comment